Thames Tides

Menu

Summary of Highest Tides, Chiswick Mall, 2020

This page is a quick guide to this year’s highest tides on and around Chiswick Mall. Parts of the roadway in Chiswick Mall are often flooded, as the main flood defence is along the building line, leaving the road unprotected. Flooding of property, as distinct from front gardens and the roadway, is not normally expected. A flood alert or warning would be issued if property was threatened.

This year, as well as the usual "London Bridge" tide heights, I have included the predicted height in metres Above Ordnance Datum (mAOD) on Chiswick Mall, which enables a comparison with local land heights. For more information about AOD heights, see the AOD page.

Below are three tables:
- Table 1 shows the dates on which some flooding of the road is likely (predicted tide level of at least 4.0 mAOD at Chiswick Mall).
- Table 2 gives more details of the highest tides (predicted level of at least 4.3 mAOD) when more extensive flooding of the roadway can be expected. Tides predicted to reach at least 4.5 mAOD are shown in bold.
- Table 3 lists the known AOD land heights on or near Chiswick Mall.

For full tide tables, listing all high and low tides for the year, click one of these links:

  Chiswick Mall annual tide-table 2019

  Chiswick Mall annual tide-table 2020


Table 1: Dates in 2020 on which some flooding of Chiswick Mall is likely

Month Dates
January 11-15; 24-25
February 9-15; 23; 26-28
March 9-15; 23-28
April 6-13; 23-27
May 6-12; 23-26
June 4-10; 21-26
July 4-9; 21-26
August 3-7; 19-24
September 1-6; 17-23
October 1-6; 16-22; 31
November 1-4; 14-19
December 1-3; 13-18

Table 2: Details of highest tides when extensive flooding of Chiswick Mall is likely

The table below lists all the tides in Chiswick Mall up to December 2020 that are predicted to be 4.3m AOD or higher. Tide times are for the peak of the tide at Chiswick Mall (Chiswick Eyot) in local clock time - GMT or BST according to season. These times and heights are predictions only, and in practice may be influenced by actual river flow and the weather.

Date/time at Chiswick Mall
(2020)
Tide height
(LB*)
Tide height
(AOD*)
*   LB predicted height at London Bridge in metres above chart datum
  AOD predicted height at Chiswick Mall in metres Above Ordnance Datum
  Tue 11 Feb    16:12   7.4 4.4
  Wed 12 Feb    16:57   7.3 4.4
  Tue 10 Mar    15:07   7.4 4.3
  Wed 11 Mar    03:21   7.2 4.3
  Wed 11 Mar    15:51   7.5 4.5
  Thu 12 Mar    04:03   7.4 4.4
  Thu 12 Mar    16:34   7.5 4.5
  Fri 13 Mar    04:45   7.4 4.5
  Fri 13 Mar    17:17   7.3 4.4
  Sat 14 Mar    05:27   7.2 4.4
  Wed 8 Apr    15:43   7.4 4.3
  Thu 9 Apr    03:55   7.3 4.4
  Thu 9 Apr    16:27   7.5 4.4
  Fri 10 Apr    04:38   7.5 4.5
  Fri 10 Apr    17:09   7.5 4.5
  Sat 11 Apr    05:21   7.5 4.6
  Sat 11 Apr    17:50   7.3 4.4
  Sun 12 Apr    06:05   7.3 4.5
  Thu 7 May    15:19   7.3 4.3
  Fri 8 May    03:32   7.3 4.4
  Fri 8 May    16:03   7.4 4.3
  Sat 9 May    04:17   7.4 4.5
  Sat 9 May    16:46   7.4 4.4
  Sun 10 May    05:02   7.4 4.5
  Sun 10 May    17:27   7.2 4.3
  Mon 11 May    05:48   7.3 4.4
  Sun 7 Jun    04:03   7.2 4.3
  Mon 8 Jun    04:49   7.2 4.3
  Fri 21 Aug    04:51   7.3 4.3
  Fri 21 Aug    17:04   7.1 4.3
  Sat 22 Aug    05:34   7.3 4.4
  Sat 22 Aug    17:45   7.2 4.4
  Sun 23 Aug    06:17   7.2 4.3
  Sun 23 Aug    18:26   7.1 4.3
  Fri 18 Sep    03:44   7.4 4.3
  Sat 19 Sep    04:27   7.5 4.4
  Sat 19 Sep    16:38   7.4 4.5
  Sun 20 Sep    05:10   7.5 4.5
  Sun 20 Sep    17:20   7.4 4.6
  Mon 21 Sep    05:52   7.4 4.4
  Mon 21 Sep    18:02   7.3 4.5
  Tue 22 Sep    18:46   7.1 4.3
  Sat 17 Oct    03:17   7.4 4.3
  Sat 17 Oct    15:29   7.4 4.4
  Sun 18 Oct    04:01   7.5 4.4
  Sun 18 Oct    16:12   7.5 4.5
  Mon 19 Oct    04:44   7.5 4.5
  Mon 19 Oct    16:56   7.5 4.7
  Tue 20 Oct    05:26   7.4 4.4
  Tue 20 Oct    17:41   7.4 4.6
  Wed 21 Oct    18:27   7.2 4.3
  Sun 15 Nov    14:05   7.3 4.3
  Mon 16 Nov    02:37   7.4 4.3
  Mon 16 Nov    14:52   7.5 4.5
  Tue 17 Nov    03:21   7.4 4.4
  Tue 17 Nov    15:38   7.5 4.6
  Wed 18 Nov    04:05   7.3 4.3
  Wed 18 Nov    16:26   7.4 4.5
  Tue 15 Dec    14:40   7.2 4.3
  Wed 16 Dec    15:28   7.3 4.3
  Thu 17 Dec    16:16   7.2 4.3


Table 3: Known AOD land heights on Chiswick Mall
Locations are in the middle of the carriageway unless otherwise noted.
o/s = outside

mAOD  Location
4.9  at junction with Church Street, opposite slipway, near slipway edge of carriageway
4.0  o/s Eynham House
4.1  at junction with Chiswick Lane South
4.70  OS Benchmark on brewery wall just inside Chiswick Lane South
4.2  o/s West boundary of Oak Cottage
4.7  o/s Strawberry House
4.5  in line with footway at east of The Osiers, in line with The Cottage
5.5  o/s entrance to Miller's Court

© 2020 Richard Jennings


Back to Tide Tables page.