Thames Tides

Menu

Summary of Highest Tides, Putney, 2020-21

This page is a quick guide to this and next year's highest tides in Putney. Parts of the roadway on Putney Embankment are often flooded, as the main flood defence is along the building line, leaving the road unprotected. Flooding of property, as distinct from front gardens and the roadway, is not normally expected. A flood alert or warning would be issued if property was threatened.

This year, as well as the usual "London Bridge" tide heights, I have included the predicted height in metres Above Ordnance Datum (mAOD) at Putney Embankment which enables a comparison with local land heights. For more information about AOD heights, see the AOD page.

Below are three tables:
- Table 1 shows the dates on which some flooding of the road is likely (predicted tide level of at least 3.9 mAOD on Putney Embankment).
- Table 2 gives more details of the highest tides (predicted level of at least 4.3 mAOD) when more extensive flooding of the roadway can be expected. Tides predicted to reach at least 4.5 mAOD are shown in bold.
- Table 3 lists the known AOD land heights on or near Putney Embankment.

For full tide tables, listing all high and low tides for the year, click one of these links:

  Putney Bridge annual tide-table 2020

  Putney Bridge annual tide-table 2021


Table 1: Dates on which some flooding of Putney Embankment is likely

2020
September 1-6; 17-23
October 1-6; 16-21; 31
November 1-4; 14-19
December 2-3; 13-18
2021
January2; 12-16; 30-31
February1-2; 11-16; 27-28
March1-5; 12-18; 28-31
April1-3; 10-16; 26-30
May1-2; 11-14; 25-31
June23-29
July24-28
August10-13; 22-27
September7-12; 20-25
October6-11; 19-24
November4-9; 19-21
December3-9

Table 2: Details of highest tides when extensive flooding of Putney Embankment is likely

The table below lists all the tides on Putney Embankment up to December 2021 that are predicted to be 4.3m AOD or higher. Tide times are for the peak of the tide at Putney Bridge (at the downstream end of Putney Embankment) in local clock time - GMT or BST according to season. These times and heights are predictions only, and in practice may be influenced by actual river flow and the weather.

Date/time at Putney Embankment Tide height
(LB*)
Tide height
(AOD*)
*   LB predicted height at London Bridge in metres above chart datum
  AOD predicted height at Putney Embankment in metres Above Ordnance Datum
  Sat 19 Sep 2020    04:17  7.54.4
  Sat 19 Sep 2020    16:29  7.44.4
  Sun 20 Sep 2020    04:59  7.54.5
  Sun 20 Sep 2020    17:10  7.44.5
  Mon 21 Sep 2020    05:41  7.44.4
  Mon 21 Sep 2020    17:52  7.34.5
  Tue 22 Sep 2020    18:36  7.14.3
  Sat 17 Oct 2020    03:07  7.44.3
  Sat 17 Oct 2020    15:20  7.44.3
  Sun 18 Oct 2020    03:51  7.54.4
  Sun 18 Oct 2020    16:03  7.54.5
  Mon 19 Oct 2020    04:34  7.54.4
  Mon 19 Oct 2020    16:47  7.54.6
  Tue 20 Oct 2020    05:16  7.44.4
  Tue 20 Oct 2020    17:32  7.44.6
  Wed 21 Oct 2020    18:18  7.24.3
  Sun 15 Nov 2020    13:56  7.34.3
  Mon 16 Nov 2020    02:27  7.44.3
  Mon 16 Nov 2020    14:43  7.54.4
  Tue 17 Nov 2020    03:11  7.44.3
  Tue 17 Nov 2020    15:29  7.54.5
  Wed 18 Nov 2020    16:17  7.44.4
  Tue 15 Dec 2020    14:31  7.24.3
  Wed 16 Dec 2020    15:19  7.34.3
  Tue 30 Mar 2021    04:06  7.24.3
  Tue 30 Mar 2021    16:35  7.44.4
  Wed 31 Mar 2021    04:47  7.44.5
  Wed 31 Mar 2021    17:16  7.44.4
  Thu 1 Apr 2021    05:29  7.44.5
  Thu 1 Apr 2021    17:58  7.24.3
  Fri 2 Apr 2021    06:12  7.24.4
  Tue 27 Apr 2021    15:26  7.44.3
  Wed 28 Apr 2021    03:41  7.44.4
  Wed 28 Apr 2021    16:10  7.54.4
  Thu 29 Apr 2021    04:25  7.54.6
  Thu 29 Apr 2021    16:53  7.44.4
  Fri 30 Apr 2021    05:11  7.54.6
  Fri 30 Apr 2021    17:36  7.24.3
  Sat 1 May 2021    05:58  7.34.4
  Thu 27 May 2021    03:20  7.34.4
  Thu 27 May 2021    15:49  7.34.3
  Fri 28 May 2021    04:09  7.44.5
  Fri 28 May 2021    16:34  7.34.3
  Sat 29 May 2021    04:58  7.44.5
  Sun 30 May 2021    05:48  7.24.3
  Sat 26 Jun 2021    04:00  7.34.3
  Sun 27 Jun 2021    04:49  7.34.3
  Fri 10 Sep 2021    17:27  7.24.3
  Fri 8 Oct 2021    04:11  7.44.3
  Fri 8 Oct 2021    16:23  7.44.4
  Sat 9 Oct 2021    04:51  7.44.4
  Sat 9 Oct 2021    17:04  7.44.5
  Sun 10 Oct 2021    05:32  7.34.3
  Sun 10 Oct 2021    17:47  7.34.4
  Fri 5 Nov 2021    14:15  7.34.3
  Sat 6 Nov 2021    02:44  7.44.3
  Sat 6 Nov 2021    15:00  7.54.5
  Sun 7 Nov 2021    03:28  7.44.4
  Sun 7 Nov 2021    15:46  7.54.6
  Mon 8 Nov 2021    04:12  7.24.3
  Mon 8 Nov 2021    16:33  7.34.5
  Sun 5 Dec 2021    14:44  7.44.4
  Mon 6 Dec 2021    15:33  7.44.5
  Tue 7 Dec 2021    16:24  7.34.4


Table 3: Known AOD land heights on or near Putney Embankment
Locations are in the middle of the carriageway on Putney Embankment unless otherwise noted. The order is upstream from Putney Bridge.
o/s = outside

mAOD  Location
5.1  Junction with Thames Place (corner of Star & Garter Mansions)
4.3  50m upstream of Duke's Head (o/s garage door)
4.2  Junction with Glendarvon Street (o/s no.4 Embankment)
3.9  o/s Dulwich College Boat House
3.9  o/s Imperial College Boat Club
4.1  North-west of Festing Road junction, o/s Leader's Gardens
4.3  o/s cafĂ© in Leader's Gardens
4.7  Junction with Ashlone Road (shortly before Beverley Brook)
4.6  On towpath, o/s 5th Putney Sea Scouts hut
4.6  On towpath, 100m upstream of 5th Putney Sea Scouts hut
4.3  On towpath, o/s Barn Elms Boat House

© 2020 Richard Jennings


Back to Tide Tables page.